Latitude One NSWVGA Match Play Championships

Posted on: 9 December

A big thank you to our major sponsors – Ingenia, Latitude One and Port Stephens Council.  Click on the logos for their websites.


The LATITUDE ONE NSWVGA MATCH PLAY CHAMPIONSHIPS were played from 30 November to 4 December at Port Stephens NSW. The 64 Men and 48 ladies enjoyed the competition over four days at Nelson Bay, Pacific Dunes and Horizons golf courses. The Men’s Champion was Tony Southward from Charlestown. Ladies Champion was Cara Frires from Nelson Bay.

The Bob Coulson Shield was presented to Tony by Ryan Palmer, Mayor of Port Stephens. The Ladies Shield was presented to Cara by Jodie Pennings, NSW Marketing Manager for Ingenia.

The Men’s Division 1 final was very close affair, with Tony Southward 1up coming to the par 5 18th tee against his opponent Tony Tully from Everglades. Southward hit a scorching 2nd shot to within a metre of the pin, giving him a very makeable Eagle try. Tony Tully’s birdie attempt missed by only inches before he graciously conceded the hole and the match to Southward.

The Ladies Division 1 final was also fiercely contested, with Cara Frires from Nelson Bay and her opponent Lucy Kim from Ryde Parramatta locked together at the halfway point. However, Frires played some great golf after the turn, and she eventually ran out the winner 4 and 3.

The divisional winners and runners up were:

DIV 1 MEN: WINNER: Tony Southward, Charlestown  –  RUNNER UP: Tony Tully, Everglades

DIV 1 LADIES: WINNER: Cara Frires, Nelson Bay  –  RUNNER UP: Lucy Kim, Ryde Parramatta

DIV 2 MEN: WINNER: Gary Wheeler, Port Kembla  –  RUNNER UP: Steve Fogwill, Nelson Bay

DIV 2 LADIES: WINNER: Cecilia Choi, Ryde Parramatta  –  RUNNER UP: Christine Yeldham, Cammeray

DIV 3 MEN: WINNER: Kevin McInnes, Charlestown  –  RUNNER UP: Nigel Eves, Nelson Bay

DIV 3 LADIES: WINNER: Charmaine Pattison, Nelson Bay  –  RUNNER UP: Catherine Pautsch, Wakehurst

DIV 4 MEN: WINNER: Brian Woodhouse, Nelson Bay  –  RUNNER UP: Colin Bean, Kooindah Waters.

The final standings, including all players, are listed here: NSWVGA MATCHPLAY 2020 DIVISIONAL RESULTS.

Thank you very much to our Naming Rights Sponsors LATITUDE ONE, and their parent company INGENIA. Latitude One is an Over 55s Lifestyle Community at Nelson Bay, and a number of their residents played in the championships. Their representatives Sheree Richardson and Jodie Pennings were very involved from the lead up to the conclusion of the tournament, and we are confident that we delivered a quality event for them. Latitude One hosted morning and afternoon functions on our rest day of Wednesday 2 December, and a large number of our players attended. Those who attended went in a draw for a $500 Ingenia voucher. This was won by Leesa King from Redland Bay.

Port Stephens Council also provided financial support for the staging of this event for the next three years. As this event was a “major” of the NSWVGA program, NSWVGA provided prize money for the Winners and Runners-up in all divisions.

Covid procedures were followed throughout the week, with Meet & Greet/Registration function split onto two sessions at 4.00 pm and 5.30 pm. Once registered, the players were required to sit at tables for the Welcome and Briefing.

The Presentation dinner went ahead on the Friday night, but with numbers restricted by the Covid regulations. A number of people gave up their spots at the dinner to allow more people to enter the tournament. We greatly appreciated this gesture.

The dinner itself went very well, and the Events and catering staff at Nelson Bay Golf Club are to be congratulated for such an excellent set-up and meal.

There were 112 players in the tournament. They were divided into 4 divisions of Men and 3 divisions of Ladies, with each division comprising 16 players.

Despite heat-wave conditions on the eve of the tournament, the weather was pleasantly mild for the week of competition. The courses were all in excellent condition despite the clean-up required after the strong winds on the previous Sunday.

As a match play event, it was necessary for the players to keep right on top of their divisional draws and time sheets. These were posted in the NEWS section of the NSWVA site each night, and they were also emailed out to all players. Thanks to Peter Guy for posting the results to the NSWVGA site for us. The players all did an excellent job of keeping track of their playing times.

The booking and sharing of carts is immensely difficult in a match play event. We had a Player Liaison officer in place with the task of coordinating the cart shares. In the end, the players themselves did an excellent job of arranging their own shares once they knew their tee times and groups for the following day.

The 2021 NSWVGA MATCH PLAY CHAMPIONSHIPS will be held from 31 May to 4 June 2021 at the same courses of Nelson Bay, Pacific Dunes and Horizons. Entries will open in mid-January, and any enquiries should be sent to, or to Dave Flatt on 0410 419 967.

Thanks to all members of my Organising Committee for their great contributions to the efficient running of the event. This particularly applies to the members of the Match Committee who were on hand throughout each day to manage the result and time sheets.

Thanks to all those who participated in this event.

Dave Flatt
Tournament Director.
5 Dec 2020


NSWVGA MATCHPLAY CHAMPIONS 2020: Tony Southward from Charlestown and Cara Frires from Nelson Bay
Tony Southward playing his second shot into the par 5 18th at Nelson Bay. The ball ended up less than a metre from the pin.
Some of the ladies encountering the local wildlife: Louise Spencer from Kew, Narelle Bell from Surfers Paradise, Fran Yates from Cammeray and Maureen Hogan from Redland Bay.
Meg Whitby (Beverly Park), Narelle Bell (Surfers Paradise), Betty Tucker (Nowra), Catherine Pautsch (Wakehurst), Aileen Williams (Sugar Valley), Pat Hawkins (Nelson Bay)
James Chung (Ryde Parramatta), Ian Powell (Port Kembla), Richard Osmotherly (Commonwealth), Nick Korotkich (Shortland Waters)
Michelle Paul (Duntryleague), Lucy Kim (Ryde Parramatta), Brenda Powell (Port Kembla) Maria Kim (Ryde Parramatta)
Tony Tully (Everglades), Michael Kim (Ryde Parramatta), John Stephens (Mollymook) and Graeme Luke (Nelson Bay)
Ralph Carstairs and Brian Barry battling it out at Horizons
Committee members Glenda Hendricks, Karen Flatt and Gwenda Bates who, together with Richard Bates, put in long hours each day to manage the results and time sheets.


Click on the links for the full results for each division:

Women Division 1       Women Division 2      Women Division 3

Men Division 1       Men Division 2       Men Division 3      Men Division 4