NSW Veteran Golfers - Activities & Office Bearers

Weeks of Golf

Weeks of Golf started in the early 1980’s, with Port Macquarie, Coffs Harbour and Blue Mountains being among the earliest.

There are now around 50 WOGs held under the auspices of the NSWVGA from February to December each year.  Locations range throughout NSW from Coolangatta/Tweed Heads in the North to Eden in the South and Broken Hill in the West.  See the Program for the full list.


Six tournaments are held under the auspices of the NSWVGA each year:

  • Stroke Play Championships, first held in 1993
  • Match Play Championships, first held in 1997, with the Ladies event added in 2018
  • Mixed Better Ball Championships, first held in 1997
  • Sandgreen Championships – Mens first held in 1997, Mens Better Ball first held in 2002, Mixed Better Ball first held in 2009

In addition the NSWVGA holds a Gold Medal tournament each year for the winners of local tournaments held by Groups and Clubs.

Grassroots Prize Scheme

In 2018, Vice-President Richard Doyle suggested the introduction of a scheme to benefit to members at the grassroots level, to reflect the significant number of members who are unable to attend Weeks of Golf or Championships. The proposal was to give prize vouchers for member competitions at the club level.

This proposal was approved by the Executive Council and in 2019 the Grassroots Prize scheme came into operation, thanks to great efforts from Richard in checking memberships and qualification of clubs, and in managing the operation.

The scheme provides over 400 vouchers every year drawn on local businesses to ensure that benefit flows through to the local economy, with a total value of over $10,000.

Office Bearers


G. Clarke 1985 John Hart 1986-1988 Reg Gardiner 1989-1991
Len Shadwick 1992 Des Coady 1993-2008 Dick Farrant 2009-2016
Ian Vidler 2017-        



Len Shadwick 1991 John Leckie 1991-1992 Alan Read 1992
Peter Berriman 1993-1994 John Powell 1993-2002 Eric Moulder 1995-2012
Bill Poole 1998-2012 Les Mann 2003-2015 Ian Vidler 2013-2016
John Dixon 2016 Richard Doyle 2017-2018 Kel Pearce 2017
Les Knox 2018- John Daley 2019-    



Mervyn Burke1985-1992Reg Gardiner1993-1995Bob Coulson1995-1996


At the end of 1996 the roles of Secretary and Treasurer were split because of the increasing workload.


Dick Farrant1997-2008Trevor Bell2009-2012Len Payne2013-2018
Aileen Williams2019-



Bob Coulson1997-2007Alan Neems20018-2011David Gunner2012-



Alan Read1991John Muggleton1991
Des Coady1992
Peter Berriman1992Max Baker1993
John Whitty1994-1995
Cliff Cullen1996-1997Keith Gray1996-1997John Dulihanty1998-2001
Eddie Boots1998-1999Ashley Harrison1998-1999Jim McArdle2000-2005
Rex Tate2000-2009Ron Walford2001Les Mann2001-2002
Trevor Bell2003-2008Ron Simmons2005-2016Mike Fenton2006
Alan Neems2007Richard Doyle2007-2016John Wickett2007-2009
Col Darley2008-2016Bob Coulson2009John Buttle2010
Alan Young2010-2012Ian Vidler2010-2012Chris Evans2011-2016
John Dixon2013-2015
Kel Pearce2013-2016Stuart Dossetor2016-
Les Knox2017-Lance Fredericks2017-Garry Mason2017-
John Daley2017-Peter Taylor2018-Gerry Cox2018-
Aileen Williams2019-Peter Guy2019-



Paul Horton 2002-2016 Barry Maloney 2017-2018 Stuart Dossetor 2018-