NSW Veteran Golfers - Match Play Championships

The origins of this Matchplay event can be traced back to the 1960s when an Australian team took part in an event in the USA.  In 1988, Australia was among 66 countries that took part in an international event, again in the USA.  Following this a challenge match was held on the north island of New Zealand between Australia and New Zealand.

Thereafter the AVGU decided to run a National Matchplay Championships.  Bill Mead and Bob Coulson were responsible for running this event for several years, before NSWVGA decided to run it at a state level.

This NSWVGA championship event was first played at Coffs Harbour golf club in 1999 under the direction of Alan Hawkins.  The format was modelled on a national event held at Rich River GC on the Murray.  The national event unfortunately fell by the wayside but the NSW championship proved popular and continues to attract manageable fields, including women from 2008.

One of the features of the event is that players play through the whole week irrespective of daily results and every winner on each day receives a prize. Even those who lose on the last day are rewarded in some fashion.

The perpetual shield went untitled for some time until a motion was passed at a NSWVGA meeting in 2009 to name it the Bob Coulson Shield in recognition of Bob’s outstanding contribution towards veteran golf at state and indeed national level.  The Ladies Shield was started in 2017.

Years Tournament Director Venue
1999 – 2007 Alan Hawkins Coffs Harbour GC
2008 – 2013 Dick Farrant Illawarra courses
2014 – 2016 John Mason Newcastle courses
2017 – 2019 Steve Pryor Newcastle courses
2020 – 2022 Dave Flatt Port Stephens courses



Year Mens Winner Mens Runner-up Ladies Winner Ladies Runner-up
2021 Tony Southward – Charlestown Warren Gorton – Hawks Nest Golf Club Lyn Banks – Scone Golf Club Wendy Gordon – Port Macquarie Golf Club
2020 Tony Southward – Charlestown Tony Tully – Everglades Cara Frires – Nelson Bay Lucy Kim – Ryde Parramatta
2019 Jim Shadlow – Inverell Alan Mould – Kurri Kurri Di Shadlow – Inverell Sue Schultz – Belmont
2018 Graham Leake – Links Shell Cove Les Edmonds – Port Kembla Anne Hamilton – Belmont Penny Hudson – Leeton
2017 Russell Bunn Wal Korotkick – Shortland Waters Barbara Randell – Pacific Dunes  
2016 Wayne Gill – Charlestown      
2015 Wayne Gill – Charlestown      
2014 Greg Kent – Charlestown      
2013 Not played      
2012 Rod McBride – Port Kembla      
2011 Greg Kent – Charlestown      
2010 Cam Fraser – Highlands      
2009 Ron Hall – Port Kembla      
2008 Tony Jones – Waratah      
2007 Jack Parker – Wyong      
2006 Jack Parker – Wyong      
2005 Geoff Everett – The Lakes      
2004 Andrew Carter – Coffs Harbour      
2003 Geoff Everett – The Lakes      
2002 Geoff Everett – The Lakes      
2001 Ken Madden – Merewether      
2000 Ken White – Belmont      
1999 Ken White – Belmont